SME Announces 2018 Distinguished Faculty Advisors

The SME Member Council and its Student Relations Committee are happy to announce the 2018 Distinguished Faculty Advisor Award winners! This award is offered to student chapter faculty advisors in recognition of their service to SME and their student chapter(s) in advancing manufacturing knowledge, education and SME's vision/mission/purpose.

Out of the 14 nominations received, two faculty advisors were chosen as this year’s award winners:

 Ismail Fidan, PhD
 Tennessee Tech University S215
 Cookeville, Tennessee

 Rohan Shirwaiker, PhD
 North Carolina State University S317
 Raleigh, North Carolina

Dr. Fidan, an SME member since 1993 and the faculty advisor at Tennessee Tech since 1997, considers SME his second home. He plans to use the $3,000 award to learn a new publishing system that will bring the student chapter into the cyber world again. Dr. Shirwaiker, who joined SME in 2012, has been the faculty advisor at NC State since he originally joined. He will use his $2,000 award for factory tours at distant locations, student scholarships and
supplementing travel stipends at SME-affiliated events in North Carolina.

Please join the SME Member Council, Student Relations Committee and the SME Membership team in congratulating Dr. Fidan and Dr. Shirwaiker on their achievements!
Posted by Sarah Bojanowski on Aug 16, 2018 9:02 AM America/New_York